Mirtos beach, Kefalonia
Kefalonia Sightseeing

Kefalonia Sights
How can you choose among all these places definitely calling for a visit? Kefalonia is filled with ancient monuments, sanctuaries, castles, old churches, monasteries, caves and old tombs. Find here below a list with the most beautiful and not-to-be missed sites in Kefalonia.

The Monastery of Agios Gerasimos
Agios Gerasimos is the patron saint of the island and the monastery, where his body is kept, is located in Omaloi. Agios Gerasimos departed on August 15th 1579 and the Patriarchate declared him as Saint on 1622.On October 10th 1581 they dug up his body, which was intact, giving off a pleasant scent. The procession of his body on August 16th is a major celebration of Kefalonia and it attracts thousands of people.  

The Lighthouse of Agioi Theodoroi
The lighthouse, also known as Lantern (“Fanari” in Greek), is located in Lassi, near Argostoli. It was built on 1820 based on a British architectural design. Unfortunately during the earthquakes that stroke the island in 1953 it was totally destroyed, but was later reconstructed according to the original blueprint.

The Fortress of Agios Georgios
The Fortress of Agios Georgios is located at the village Peratata on a 300 m altitude and was probably constructed during the 12th century AD by Byzantine Emperors. It’s about 16.000 m2 and its surrounding walls are approximately 600 m long. Inside the walls there were public and private buildings, churches, food and ammunition warehouses, barracks, hospitals, prisons and water tanks. Visitors will also see the remnants of the catholic church of Agios Nikolaos and a tunnel that led from the castle to the lagoon of Koutavos and it was used in case of emergency exit. This castle was actually the capital of the island till 1757, when Argostoli became the new capital, but it was heavily damaged during the earthquakes of 1636, 1637 and 1953.

Archeological Museum

The Archeological Museum in Argostoli houses various antiquities found on the island. Among its exhibits are various items from the prehistoric and the roman years, but it mostly features findings from the Mycenaean era: ancient coins, copper swords, stamps, precious stones, tools of the Paleolithic man and ceramics of the Geometrical and the Archaic era.

For more information about entrance fees and opening hours, please call at +30 26710 28300.

The Monastery of Virgin Mary in Agrilia
This Monastery is dated back to the 18th century when in 1772 two shepherds and their maid found the miraculous icon of Virgin Mary. The Monastery is located at Agrillia region,  near Sami, and it has an incredible view to the beach of Antisamos and Ithaca.

Melissani Lake cave
This is a rare geological phenomenon. This cave is located in Karavomylos, about 2 km from Sami. The ceiling of the cave’s main hall has collapsed, creating two sections. One is open air and the other is roofed. The entire length of the cave is about 160 meters and its maximum depth 39 meters. In the center of the lake-cave which is open air, there is a tiny islet, where archeological findings verify the worshiping use of this cave in the antiquity. This is why Melissani is also called the Cave of the Nymphs. Even though the tour doesn’t last long, it’s still beautiful to watch all these different shades of blue in the water. The cave is open daily until late at night. Do not miss this out since the spectacle of the lake in a cave with no ceiling and the sun rays radiating in its waters it is just superb! For more information call at 26740 22997.

Dogarati Cave
This cave is located a few kilometers away from the port of Sami. It’s 45 meters wide, 21 meters deep and 9 meters high and it’s divided in 2 sections, out of which only one is accessible to the public. The main hall is used for many cultural events, since it has excellent acoustics, and it can accommodate up to 500 people. The artificial lighting together with the reflections of the stalactites creates a unique visual panorama.

Iakovateios Library - Museum

This historic library is located on the western part of Lixouri and it is housed in the pre-earthquake mansion of the Typaldos-Iakovatos family, restored in 1984. It consists of 14 rooms, beautifully decorated, and it boasts a collection of 30.000 volumes, a big part of which is from the 16th, 17th, 18th and the 19th century. The Museum hosts manuscripts, ecclesiastical vestments, old furniture, paintings, 36 priceless icons and3 gospels handwritten on vellum dated back to the 10th, 14th and 15th century.

For more information about entrance fees and opening hours, please call at +30 26710 91325.

Korgialeneio Historic and Folk Art Museum

This Museum is housed in the imposing building of the homonymous Library, founded in 1962. The archives depict the island’s history starting from the 15th century till 1848 and its founding aimed at  preserving the memories of Kefalonia before the earthquakes of 1953. It boasts a collection of historic documents, paintings, personal artifacts, porcelains, silver decorative items, old furniture, photographic archives, ecclesiastical utensils, icons, coins, musical instruments and many more.

For information on entrance fees and opening hours, please call at +30 26710 28221.   

Mycenaean Tombs - Mazarakata
These very important tombs verify the existence of a substantial Mycenaean settlement in this area. Amongst the archeological findings is rare jewelry of Mycenaean art.

Roman Villa in Skala
The remnants of a roman villa of the 3rd century BC in the location of Skala which are definitely worth a visit. Mosaics in mint condition, with complex reenactments were brought to light after years of archeological excavations.  

Tzanatta – Arched tomb
The archeological excavations in this area brought to light the biggest arched tomb ever found in western Greece. Amongst the unique findings are jewelry and a stamp, verifying once again the existence of an important Mycenaean metropolitan hub.

Mount Aenos
Mount Aenos is an exceptional natural preserve boasting a forest of the unique black firs of Kefalonia (abies cephalonica). Aenos became widely known as the Monte Negro of Greece due to the dark color of the trees that seemed black when seen from far away. This beautiful National Park hosts a great variety of flora species and a rich fauna including reptiles and birds, such as the hawk, the woodpecker and the blackbird. The most important mammal found here, but unfortunately is under extinction, is the famous Aenos wild horse, which belong to the Pindos breed and is small and very strong.

Sign in Sign up

Forgot your password?
Melian boutique hotel in Greece is a haven of serenity and calm for couples...
Read more